20th Annual Historymakers Awards Gala (2016)

The 20th Annual Historymakers Awards Gala

The Chinese American Museum’s Annual Historymakers Awards Gala represents the vision of pioneers, dedication of volunteers, and continuous community collaboration over the years since its inception in 1997. Prominently recognized as one of the premiere Chinese American events in Southern California, the Gala honors the achievements of extraordinary individuals who or organizations that have made significant impact or lasting contributions towards the advancement of the Chinese American community and beyond.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

4:00pm Press Conference
4:30pm President’s Reception
5:00pm Registration Begins
5:00pm Silent Auction Opens
6:30pm Program and Dinner

The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
404 South Figueroa Street
Los Angeles, CA 90071


portrait_gding_2 Gang Ding
International Corporate Award

Dr. Ding is CEO and Co-Chairman of BDK Capital, a company whose investments and community involvement have contributed greatly to California’s economic growth. His support of CAM will help lead the Museum into its next stage of development and expansion.

 60864_003 ABC’s Fresh Off the Boat Produced by 20th Century Fox Television
Excellence in Entertainment Award

The team behind Fresh off the Boat is being recognized for their leadership role in creating the groundbreaking comedy series and boldly featuring Asian American actors in key roles.  Representing the show will be Melvin Mar, executive producer.

 headshot imada Bill Imada
Dr. Dan S. Louie Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award

Founder of the IW group, a multi-cultural marketing agency, Mr. Imada is widely respected for his pioneering leadership in introducing unique marketing approaches to the diverse Asian American communities. IW Group today maintains a large portfolio of mainstream clients.

 HEADSHOT Susanna & Evans Lam
Judge Ronald S.W. Lew Visionary Award

Mr. and Mrs. Lam are being honored for inspiring others, especially young people, by sharing their stories as immigrants to the United States, reaching for the American dream, and then giving back to the schools and communities that contributed to that pathway to success.

 Kent Wong Head Shot (2) Kent Wong
Excellence in Law and Justice Award

For more than 30 years, Mr. Wong has fought for social justice and community empowerment in the areas of labor, immigration, and law through education and the legal system.  He is also being honored for his decades of activism on behalf of Asian American communities.

 Esther Woo headshot Esther Woo Jan
Excellence in Community Services Award

Throughout her life, Mrs. Woo Jan has dedicated herself to serving her fellow Chinese Americans and to the advancement of the Chinese American community.  Dubbed the Ambassador of Chinatown, Mrs. Woo Jan bridges the gap between pioneers and new immigrants.

Honorary Dinner Chair

Lisa See
Credit: Patricia Williams
Lisa See, international best-selling author




We are fortunate to welcome Singpoli as our event sponsor.

Singpoli-with-ChineseLogo with Chinese02



acsc_spot     new logo large     FAS_Logo_White




Madison Media Mgmt



Robert and Esther Louie Henry

Jim & Lily Jang

Lai Y. Lillian Lee Jang

Susanna & Evans Lam

Mr. & Mrs. Bing Liu

Charles W. Wong, AIA

Gay Q. Yuen, Ph.D.


EWB_logo_TB     great-wall-logoLT-LL_2016_v2

lacc_logo_2013_color_big   unnamed     Supervisor-Mark-Ridley-Thomas

Al & Bibiana Y. Soo-Hoo

Drs. James Bok Wong and Betty KC Yeow