24th Annual Historymakers Awards Gala (2020)

Our theme this year, Warriors Shaping a New Future, highlights individuals and organizations who have amplified the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic and have led the way in combating systemic racism in our nation.

Join us virtually as we acknowledge the dedication and accomplishments of our honorees who have made a lasting impact in our community and beyond.


Tuesday, October 20, 2020

  • 7:00pm – 8:00pm (PDT) – Video Presentation
  • 6:00pm – 9:00pm (PDT) – Silent Auction Silent Auction
    We are also hosting a virtual Silent Auction from 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. PDT. Click here for a sneak peek at our Silent Auction page, updated periodically. Pre-register for easy bidding. (Choose “sign-in” on the top right corner of the Silent Auction page, input your email address, and follow the steps to create an account.)


Thank you for supporting us at our 24th Annual Historymakers Gala. The event has ended, but if you missed it, you may watch the full gala by going to historymakers.camla.org.





Asian American Journalists Association–LA Chapter (AAJA)
Advocacy in Action Award

Leading the challenge to advance diversity in the newsroom, AAJA-LA is committed to supporting fair and accurate coverage of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. CAM honors this organization for its dedication to professionalism and encouraging the next generation of journalists.



Judge Dolly Gee
Judge Ronald S.W. Lew Visionary Award 

The first Chinese American woman to become an Article III federal judge, Dolly Gee stands as role model and a respected member of the judiciary. She is a fifth generation Chinese American and descendant of a transcontinental railroad worker.


Mei Wah Lau
Community Trailblazer Award

Mei Wah Lau made history when she was named the first woman president of the Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association (CCBA). In addition, she serves as Vice President and Branch Manager of East West Bank in Chinatown and works diligently as a community volunteer and leader.


LA Times
Societal Transformation Award

The Los Angeles Times, largest newspaper on the West Coast, is being recognized for its commitment to coverage of Asian American communities. Acquired in 2018 by Dr. Patrick and Michele Soon-Shiong, the publication has also created innovative training programs that support diversity and encourage professionalism among a new generation of journalists.



The Honorable Hilda Solis
Courage in Leadership Award

A dedicated public servant, L.A. County Supervisor Hilda Solis actively supports quality of life issues, including the environment and raising the minimum wage. She established food banks during the COVID-19 crisis and fought against anti-Asian racism. She is the first Latina to serve in the California State Assembly and State Senate and served as U.S. Secretary of Labor under President Barack Obama.



Renee Tajima-Peña
Champion for Justice Award

Academy Award-nominated documentary filmmaker and educator, Ms. Tajima-Peña’s body work highlighting social justice issues includes the critically acclaimed five-part series recently broadcast on public television, Asian Americans, and the groundbreaking Who Killed Vincent Chin? She is a professor of Asian American Studies at UCLA, where she is Director of the Center for Ethno Communications.





Helen Zia
Dr. Dan S. Louie Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award

Helen Zia is an American journalist and long-standing activist for Asian American and LGBTQ rights. A graduate of Princeton University’s first coeducational class, Ms. Zia is an award-winning author whose remarkable career includes positions as Executive Editor of Ms. Magazine and a founding board co-chair of the Women’s Media Center.



Jim Jang
President’s Award

Mr. Jang is being recognized for his leadership and dedication to the museum. He served as president of the Friends of the Chinese American Museum from 2016-2018. A retired automotive industry executive, Mr. Jang teaches AARP’s safe driving program for seniors. He is actively involved with the Cerritos Baptist Church, where he founded the Serving Hands Ministry.

Honorary Dinner Chairs

Dr. Carl and Linda Moy

Event Chairs

Ed Lew

FCAM Board Member


Lan Ong

FCAM Board Member

Managing Director of Wing Hop Fung



Diamond Sponsors




Gold Sponsors

Robert and Esther Louie Henry
Hong W. Moy Foundation Jim Jang
Lai Y. Lillian Lee Jang Susanna and Evans Lam
Bing Liu 

Silver Sponsors

Cultural Foundations of Zhengdai He U.S.A. Larry Jung
Eugene Moy & Susan Sing
Joe and Sheung Quan Los Angeles County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas
Al & Bibiana Y. Soo-Hoo    Doré Hall Wong 

Table Sponsors

Annie Chin Siu, D.D.S. Ed Lew
Chung King Properties

Friendship Sponsors

Los Angeles County Supervisor Kathryn Barger Paul and Christina Chang
Dr. T. G. Chow   Michael Duchemin  
Exact Tax, Inc.  Ideal Legal Group
May Jang Tak Lau Charity Foundation   
Dorothy Hall Tamashiro Debra Wong Spiegel
Dr. Richard and Mrs. Ivy Sun Leonard and Marsha Young